Pierre’s Poutine – Regular Poutine

** Location: Guelph, ON, Canada **

Pierre Poutine

About the meal: I’ve had the real Quebec poutine so I’m very particular about good/bad poutine. I was very skeptical when I was told there was good poutine in Guelph, but I decided to try it out anyways – and I approve! The fries are freshly made (you can taste the real taste of potatoes, and not frozen fries) and they are not shy with the gravy, making the heat of the gravy melt the cheese curds, and add tons of flavor to the poutine. The fries are done right, so that they remain crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, and don’t become soggy. A must try!

About the place: The staff is pretty friendly (I’ve been a couple of times now) and the service is fairly quick. It’s a small place, not very fancy, but it’s rarely packed so there’s enough space to be comfortable. Good place to have a quick meal and seems family friendly.

I’ve sometimes wondered about the cleanliness of the place. It looks overall OK, but more could be done. I’ve also observed them making the poutine and a lot of the times the staff isn’t wearing gloves but picks up the fries/cheese with their bare hands, and also work on cash/other tasks.

Sad note: they are closed on Sundays…

-RaspberryCream

Leave a Reply

