Ninki – Poke Bowl

Poke bowl

 

About the meal:
I was quite disappointed in this. I’ve been looking at Poke Bowl pictures wondering what it would taste like. I love sushi, and particularly anything that is salmon based. When I asked around, I was told a poke bowl is like a sushi, in bowl form (kind of like how you can get a burrito in a wrap, or a burrito bowl). So I was quite excited to try this!

The dish was comprised of white rice, fresh bits of raw salmon, avocado, tofu, soy sauce (that I poured myself) and some mayonnaise looking sauce. I’m not sure whether it was the mayo that didn’t sit in properly with the rest of the dish but this was quite nauseating!

The other thing that I didn’t like was that there is an art to how salmon is cut – for sushi at least. You cannot just cut chunks of raw fish and put it there; unfortunately this is what the salmon in this dish felt like, and it’s just horrible to chew.

Finally, I’m not a fan of Tofu, so having it scattered all around this bowl was just not my cup of tea. That’s just personal preference however. And despite the fact that I tried to dodge them, I still couldn’t enjoy this dish. Overall, not something I would recommend.

About the place:
I will not comment on this as I took my food to go, but judging from the outside it seems like a nice plate to eat – more on the “date”/”corporate meal” end. The lady who was there when I picked up my food was very friendly. All this to say, I would definitely sit in for food in this restaurant.

-RaspberryCream

Leave a Reply

